Your Ad Could Be Here

Help! Get This Music Out Of My Head

I'm completely new to the world of songwriting.  I am a former singer and I played piano for 10 years of my life.  I don't pretend to know how to write notes on staff paper.  With all of that said.  HELP!!  How do I get the music out of my head?  I assume that software is the way to go for me.  Can anyone suggest a fail safe software.  I have the free trial of Finale.  The reviews claim that is easy.  Really?!  I am still able to pick out tunes on a piano but writing key signatures, getting the rhythm correct, etc. is too much.  I know other people writing music that don't have half the musical experience that I have.  How are they doing this?  What am I missing?

I use Guitar Pro for notation, you can dl a trial I think. There are a few others, Google music notation for a heap of them. take your pick!

Kel

Thank you for the suggestions. Seems like recording is the key.  Basic recording software, huh.

I guess I did not express myself correctly.  I have a piano.  I can pick out notes with one finger. That's it.  My instrument is my voice.  I am a singer.  At this very moment, I have this awesome song in my head.  No one knows it because they can't hear it.  I can sing my melody with my wonderful lyrics.  You cant hear the piano, the guitars or the drums.  How do I get that music out of my head?  Do you just talk to other musicians and hum their parts to them?  This is why I thought software was the only way.  HoboSage mentioned that I could "sing into a tape recorder" which is probably closer to reality at this point.  Then what?  I have this image of walking up to a guitar player saying, now your part goes Bererereeeeer.  :-)

• 3 weeks later...