Your Ad Could Be Here

Is It Better To Be Self-taught Or To Get Lessons?

This might seem like a stupid question, but I'm curious.

I got a guitar and a bass last year at the same time, because my cousin was moving and had one of each to give me, because he couldn't take them all to college.

So I started taking guitar lessons. But I put off the bass lessons because, (and this bit might sound stupid) every successful or brilliant musician that I can personally think of say they were self-taught.

It might not have any significance, but I've noticed that the best musicians that I either meet, hear about or listen to tend to be self-taught.

Is that coincidental? Or does taking lessons actually somehow hinder your musical abilities?

Like I said, it might seem stupid, but I really do wonder.

I've put off having bass lessons for a year because of this. I now tend to play bass a lot more than the guitar. Riffs come much easier to me on the bass.

But I might get bass lessons depending on what people here have to say.

What do you think? Am I crazy and superstitous or does this theory hold some merit?

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

i'm self taught on guitar, but i did that on the back of having lessons on other instruments.

i'd go for a few lessons with a teacher that teaches the styles you are interested in, and then get the odd lesson from time to time.

Edited by typo

Speaking as someone who is completely self taught, I would advise you get some lessons. While I was sat in my room trying to work out what the hell was going on? Everybody was having lessons and leaving me behind! Get the basics from a good teacher. Then work on your style and sound.